Dear Social Media: Change These 2 Things Quickly in 2012

(This is part two of a three-part series)

Hello there, how about that ride in (to 2012)?

I’m back for part two of my New Year Extravaganza (I am probably buttering up this statement just a tad). This portion focuses on what I would like to see happen in 2012.

In 2011, we’ve saw many new beginnings in the U.S. such as Google+, Spotify, Siri, to name a few. While none of these ideas would have even crossed my mind in a 2010 form of a “New Year’s Resolution” post, I hope that what I want to see this year happens (one of these wishes is very trivial, but could have great impact for everyone, but you can guess which one it is).

It’s not a long list, but if I had too many resolutions for the new year, my expectations might be let down more than I’d like.

  • Let me edit my turrible grammer: The first thing I noticed about Google+ when I joined was if I made an error, I could immediately edit, or even two hours later, without having to delete the post and re-post it, or using an asterisk, followed by my correction. If Facebook, Twitter and LinkedIn (to name a few social venues that do not allow for this completely) make one change, this would be it. It’s a simple request, at least in my eyes. Hey, Google+ did it, why can’t you?
  • Social media – Friend not a fad: With more than 800 million users on Facebook, 200-million-plus on Twitter, 100-million-plus on LinkedIn, 60-plus million on Google+, etc., social media does not appear to be going away any time soon. Sure, MySpace dwindled, and many networks have phased in and out, but others moved in and replaced them. I’ve been a Facebook user since 2005 (back in the good ol’ days when only college students could register), and back then, I might have thought it was a fad that would last a couple of years, but not now. That skeptic voice has long since faded away, and so should yours. Another reason social media should move to friend status is more and more businesses, companies, organizations and brands are flocking to social media to spread the word about their goods and services (remember those terms from your high school economics class?) Good thing dr2marketing specializes in social media marketing isn’t it?

What are your New Year’s Resolutions in 2012? I hope you at least ate your black-eyed peas!

Leave a Reply

